Toggle menu

Modern Thunder




The ULTIMATE book on USAC National Sprint Car racing!



Years in the making, Modern Thunder provides year-by-year coverage of every USAC National Sprint Car season. Each season from 1981 to 2017 is detailed with eight full pages of photos, a season summary, race results, and statistics. Each of the 1956 to 1980 seasons is recapped with a full page of statistics and race results.

Boasting 384 pages and over 1,300 color and b/w photographs, Modern Thunder provides a level of coverage of USAC’s modern era beyond anything ever before published.

Three award-winning media personalities—Dave Argabright, John Mahoney, and Patrick Sullivan—collaborated to make Modern Thunder a must-have book for the ages. In addition to race coverage and statistics, a profile of each champion from 1981 to 2017 is provided.

Statistics include a year-by-year listing of every USAC National Sprint Car race ever held; full points from every season from 1956 to 2017; driver and team statistics; Rookie-of-the-Year winners; and a history of USAC traditional races and winners.

A bonus section includes Indiana Sprint Week statistics, including a complete listing of every race held and a list of winners.

Five-time USAC National Sprint Car champion Levi Jones provided the Foreword and the Introduction is written by Dave Argabright.

Modern Thunder is sure to become a Collector’s Item, so don’t delay! Order your copy today! 


Modern Thunder - The Illustrated History of USAC National Sprint Car Racing

By Dave Argabright, John Mahoney, and Patrick Sullivan

Foreword by Levi Jones

Hardcover, 11 by 8.5 inches, 384 pages